Last item for navigation
MST among select group of nation's seniors earning Merit Scholarship
MST among select group of nation's seniors earning Merit Scholarship
Posted on 06/18/2020
Graduation photo of Olivia StackTwo Utica Community Schools seniors are among only 2,500 students nationally and approximately 80 graduates statewide to be named National Merit scholarship winners. 

Julie ElFishawy, of the Utica Academy for International Studies, and Olivia Stack, of Eisenhower High School, have each earned a $2,500 scholarship through the National Merit Corporation.  Stack also attends the Utica Center for Mathematics, Science and Technology. 

"We are proud that both Julie and Olivia are among the nation’s top high school students," Superintendent Dr. Christine Johns said. “This success reflects their hard work, the support they received from their UCS teachers and administrators, and the overall commitment to excellence that is part of the culture of Utica Community Schools.”  

ElFishawy will attend the University of Pennsylvania and Stack is attending the University of Michigan.  

National Merit Scholarship winners are judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state's percentage of the nation's graduating high school seniors. 

The winners were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official. 

National Merit Scholarship recipients are selected from among the top high school students named National Merit Finalists. This year, UCS had nine merit finalists, which annually represents the top one percent of all high school students in the nation.